PILLOW FORTS! and other pain tricks

I am having  a horrific arthritis flare. I awoke at 3am with every joint screaming at me.  I reached down to touch the fiery knees and knew, surprise flare attack!

The day before had been especially good, this is the trap.  I had overdone it a bit, but also with most chronic illnesses you just never know when it’s going to go from a 3 on the pain scale to an 11.  It might have been something you’ve done, or it might just be arthritis reminding you it’s a bitch.  Either way, dealing with the pain peaks is impossible.

It’s impossible, but of course we do deal with it.

$_35
My pillow fort can be even more complex than this one.

One trick, is the pillow fort.  Most people with joint pain have a pillow fort plan.  There is no one mattress that can support all our aching joints, no matter what the TV ad says.  Instead we use pillows.  This one supports a leg, this one cushions a hip, this one supports your neck, this one is just flat enough for your head.  You don’t want your head pillow to be too fluffy or your neck joint will hurt.

I have a specially shaped pillow that can go between my knees for extra support and to keep the joints straight.  It’s very helpful most nights.

Still, pillow forts no matter how comfortably built are just built of fluff, and tend to move around as you move around.  The protective pillow fortress needs to be rebuilt often during the night.

1919115_10201313277749218_5620351818094018522_n
I wonder if there are enough geese for all the down I need to support sleep?

A flare means, nothing is going to help your pain.

You get kind of desperate.

Some drink a tad.

That’s fine.

Period.

10154016_10201313277909222_7061639787074029500_n
Need MORE geese!

I don’t, because I have a genetically fragile liver.  Thanks relatives that mated and gave me this!  My one daughter also has it so I apologize to her.

However, I am not supposed to take Aleve, it’s bad for the liver, but it does help with the joint pain.

When you are awoken by pain and you can’t even imagine how you are going to survive it, and you’ve tried the ice packs and heating pads and pillow forts galore… you do what it takes.  For me that means sometimes taking an Aleve and offering an apology to my liver.  Fingers crossed, but I’m thinking about living through the next few hours not the next 20 years.

12392005_10201303755551169_1817699001023855592_n
it’s kind of lonely as no one else can really help

Some use medical marijuana.  This is not available where I live (legally) and since I refuse to take it in anything but gummy bear form (it comes that way) I just suffer. But at 5 am after having been awaken at 3am, I would eat some gummy bears.  Recent studies show it doesn’t hurt your liver!

Right now I am looking at this being a record flare, possibly lasting 24 hours.  I’m going to one of my doctors tomorrow where we will certainly TALK ABOUT THIS!

Meanwhile I’m planning a super deluxe pillow fort and hoping for some sleep tonight.  Finger crossed, and Aleve taken, it’s often whatever gets you through the night.

One thought on “PILLOW FORTS! and other pain tricks

Leave a Reply

